EN/FR
Store
Media
PTSAs
Contact Us
Yeti Summit


Mark
MCMORRIS

Stats

Full Name: Mark McMorris​
Age: 22
Birth place: Regina, SK
Home town: Regina, SK
Stance on board: Regular
Sponsors: Burton, Red Bull, Oakley, Nike, AWSM, Skullcandy, Sport Chek

Rider Bio

Mark McMorris started snowboarding at Mission Ridge Winter Park near Fort Qu’Appelle, Saskatchewan, a province where no one would expect a snowboard star to grow in. But at one point, McMorris needed a bigger challenge and started to travel in between Alberta and Saskatchewan every week-end to ride at Banff or Lake Louise.

In the time since he became the first rider to land a backside triple cork 1440, the level of success that Mark McMorris has attained in his young career is truly incredible. Coming out of Regina, Mark has only been competing professionally since 2009. Fresh off his victories in Big Air and Slopestyle at the 2012 Winter X-Games, Mark secured himself a spot in a very select group with Shaun White and Andreas Wiig as the only three snowboarders to win two gold medals in the same year. At the 2013 Winter X Games he won his second consecutive Gold in Slopestyle, and settled for Silver in Big Air. Now that Mark McMorris is Canada’s first Slopestyle Olympic Medalist (Bronze), we look forward to seeing what the next few years have in store for this pro.

McMorris usually trains without a coach since, from his point of view, there is no coach capable of doing what he can do on a snowboard. Instead he works and gets inspired by the Norwegian legend Terje Haakonsen who was a halfpipe star in the 1990s.

In the summer Mark enjoys skateboarding - a sport that brought him to snowboard because of it similarities - and hanging out at the lake. He’s involved with charitable organizations like Jump Start and KidSport, donating time and equipment.

Mark enjoyed one of the most successful seasons of his competitive career in 2016/2017, as he won three X Games medals, the gold medal at the Dew Tour and Burton US Open, as well as two Crystal Globes, one for the new Olympic discipline of Big Air and another as the Overall FIS Freestyle World Cup champion for 2016/2017.

Less than a year after his horrific backcountry accident in early spring 2017, McMorris captured the bronze medal in Slopestyle at the PyeongChang 2018 Winter Olympics and inspired millions of Canadians in the process. 

Highlights

- 1st Burton US Open 17/18
- Olympic Bronze Medal - PyeongChang 2018 - Slopestyle 
- 1st X Games Norway 16/17
- 1st Burton US Open 16/17

Featured Video

Burton Presents 2016 – Mark McMorris

Burton Presents is a web series showcasing Burton's top riders. In this episode, Mark McMorris bucks the contest kid stereotype as he steps away from the scoreboards and bright lights to drop hammers from British Columbia to Australia, Aspen, and Japan.

Play Video

EN/FR
Boutique
Médias
APTS
Contactez-nous
Yeti Summit


Mark
MCMORRIS

Statistiques

Nom complet : Mark McMorris
Âge : 22
Lieu de naissance : Regina, SK
Ville natale : Regina, SK
Direction : Regular
Commanditaires : Burton, Red Bull, Oakley, Nike, AWSM, Skullcandy, Sport Chek

Bio Rider

Mark McMorris a fait ses débuts en planche à neige à Mission Ridge Winter Park, près de Fort Qu’Appelle en Saskatchewan, une province d’où on a peine à croire qu’une vedette du snowboard soit née. À un certain point, McMorris a eu besoin d’un plus grand défi et c’est alors qu’il a commencé à faire l’aller-retour entre la Saskatchewan et l’Alberta pour faire de la planche sur des montagnes telles que Banff et Lac Louise.

Depuis qu’il a réussi son premier Backside triple cork 1440, le succès de ce planchiste avec une si jeune carrière fut incroyable. Ce n’est que depuis 2009 qu’il compétitionne au niveau professionnel. Fraichement de retour au pays suite à ses victoires en Big Air et Slopestyle aux X-Games d’hiver, Mark a accédé à un club très sélect avec Shaun White et Andreas Wiig. Ils sont les trois seuls planchistes à avoir remporté deux médailles d’or la même année. Maintenant que Mark McMorris est le premier médaillé olympique Slopestyle du Canada (Bronze), nous avons hâte de voir ce que les prochaines années ont en magasin pour ce pro.

Habituellement, Mark s’entraine sans les services d’un entraineur professionnel, car selon lui, aucun d’entre eux n’est en mesure de réaliser les mêmes manoeuvres que lui. Cela étant dit, il s’inspire et travail en compagnie de la légende norvégienne des années 90 Terje Haakonsen qui, à une certaine époque, était la vedette de la demi-lune.

Durant l’été, Mark fait de la planche à roulettes – un sport qui l’a d’ailleurs amené à essayer le snowboard pour ses similitudes – et s’amuse au lac. Il est impliqué auprès d’organismes de bienfaisance tels que Jump Start et Kidsport, auxquels ils donnent de son temps et de l’équipement.

Mark a connu l'une de ces meilleures saisons compétitives de sa carrière en 2016/2017, décrochant trois médailles X Games, la médaille d'or au Dew Tour et au Burton US Open, ainsi que les Globes de Cristal en Big Air et comme champion global des épreuves de Style libre de la FIS pour la saison 2016/2017.

Moins d'un an après un accident grave en arrière pays en mars 2017, McMorris a inspiré des millions de canadiens et de canadiennes en gagnant la médaille de bronze en Slopestyle aux Jeux olympiques d'hiver PyeongChang 2018.

Résultats    

- 1er Burton US Open, 17/18
- Médaille de bronze olympique - PyeongChang 2018 - Slopestyle 
- 1er X Games Norvège 16/17
- 1er Slopestyle, Burton US Open 16/17

 

En vedette

Burton Presents 2016 – Mark McMorris

Burton Presents est une série présentant les top riders de Burton. Dans cette épisode, Mark McMorris redéfini le stéréotype du "contest kid" et démontre ses compétences sur toute les conditions autour du monde.

Jouez