EN/FR
Store
Media
PTSAs
Contact Us
Yeti Summit

John
LESLIE

Stats

Full Name: John Leslie
Age: 25
Hometown: Arnprior, ON
Residence: Whistler, BC
Stance on board: Regular
Sponsors: Union Binding co., Sandbox, Capita, Dairy Farmers of Ontario, Rude Boys skate shop, Landyachtz, Airblaster

Rider Bio

In 2014, John Leslie competed at the Sochi 2014 Paralympic Games, his first Paralympics, and posted Canada’s best snowboard result with a seventh-place in the men’s snowboard cross. It was the sport’s official debut at the Games.

Leslie headed to Sochi in a strong position, having won his first career IPC World Cup medal, a bronze, on January 18, 2014 at Copper Mountain, Colorado. Leslie followed that exhilarating milestone by winning a second IPC World Cup bronze medal the very next day, also at Copper Mountain. 

At the 2017 World Championships at Big White in B.C., in January 2017, Leslie placed fifth in the banked slalom, his best result in three world championship appearances.

Leslie is currently living in Whistler with his girlfriend Emilie and dog Zak and training full time for the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games, to be held in South Korea. Leslie has noticed an incredible progression in Para-snowboarding since he started competing, with the sport making appearances at the X Games, Dew Tour, and having the added discipline of banked slalom included in the PyeongChang 2018 Paralympic Winter Games schedule.

A proud product of the small town of Arnprior, Ont, he trained with the Ottawa Akademy Club and Arnprior District High School teams at Mount Pakenham. Leslie raced able-bodied snowboard events for four years with Arnprior District High School. After graduation, his high school coach suggested he try Para-snowboard.

In 2014, he was one of the featured athletes for Petro-Canada’s Face-to- Face TV ad campaign. In 2017, was featured in King Snow Snowboard Magazine “the Drive” series and was a featured athlete as part of CBC Sports’ “Beautiful Bodies” segment.

Leslie has a below the knee amputation, a result of a cancer diagnosed when he was 10.

HIGHLIGHTS

- Canadian Champion Speed Nation Nationals (Para) 2015-2016 
- 2nd Para SBX Aspen Snowmass NORAM 2015-2016
- 4th Para SBX Trentino World Cup 2015-2016
- 4th Para SBX Big White World Cup 2015-2016
- 5th Para BSL Landgraaf World Cup 2015-2016

Featured Video

the Drive. Presented by Mazda | JOHN LESLIE

Cancer took John’s leg when he was 10 years old. The following winter snowboarding changed his life. The Ottawa native is a snowboard Paralympian preparing to represent Canada in the 2018 games. This is his inspirational story, and this is his Family.

Play Video

EN/FR
Boutique
Médias
APTS
Contactez-nous
Yeti Summit

John
LESLIE

Statistiques

Nom complet : John Leslie
Âge : 25
Ville natale : Arnprior, ON
Résidence : Whistler, C.-B.
Direction : Regular
Commanditaires : Union Binding co., Sandbox, Capita, Producteurs Laitiers de l'Ontario, Rude Boys skate shop, Landyachtz, Airblaster

Bio Rider

En 2014, John Leslie a participé aux Jeux paralympiques de Sotchi 2014, ses premiers Jeux paralympiques, et il a obtenu le meilleur résultat du Canada en snowboard avec une septième place en snowboard cross masculin. C’était les débuts officiels du sport aux Jeux.

Leslie s’est présenté à Sotchi dans une solide position, ayant gagné sa première médaille en carrière dans une Coupe du monde de l’IPC, une de bronze, le 18 janvier 2014 à Copper Mountain, au Colorado. Leslie a suivi cette étape exaltante en gagnant une deuxième médaille de bronze dans une Coupe du monde de l’IPC dès le lendemain, aussi à Copper Mountain.

Aux championnats du monde 2017 à Big White en C.-B., en janvier 2017, Leslie s’est classé cinquième en slalom avec virages, son meilleur résultat en trois participations aux championnats du monde.

Leslie vit présentement à Whistler avec son amie de coeur Émilie et leur chien Zak et s’entraîne à temps plein pour les Jeux paralympiques d’hiver de PyeongChang 2018 qui auront lieu en Corée du Sud. Leslie a remarqué une incroyable progression en parasnowboard depuis qu’il a commencé à concourir, avec le sport qui a fait des présences aux X Games, dans le circuit Dew, et qui a ajouté des disciplines comme le banked slalom qui est inclut au programme des Jeux paralympiques d’hiver de PyeongChang 2018.

Un fier produit de la petite ville d’Arnprior, en Ontario, il s’est entraîné avec les équipes du Ottawa Akademy Club et de l’Arnprior District High School au Mont Pakenham. Leslie a participé à des compétitions de snowboard sans handicap pendant quatre ans avec l’Arnprior District High School. Après sa graduation, son entraîneur à l’école secondaire lui a suggéré d’essayer le Para-snowboard.

En 2014, il a été un des athlètes en vedette dans la campagne de publicité télévisée Face-à-Face de Petro-Canada. En 2017, il a été en vedette dans la série “the Drive” de la revue King Snow Snowboard et il a été un athlète en vedette dans le cadre du segment “Beautiful Bodies” de CBC Sports.

Leslie a une amputation sous le genou, le résultat d’un cancer diagnostiqué quand il avait 10 ans.

Résultats    

- Champion Canadien Nationaux Speed Nation (Para) 2015-2016
​- 2e NorAM Para SBX Aspen Snowmass  2015-2016
- 4e Coupe du monde Para SBX Trentino  2015-2016
- 4e Coupe du monde Para SBX Big White 2015-2016
- 5e Coupe du monde Para BSL Landgraaf 2015-2016

En vedette

the Drive. Presented by Mazda | JOHN LESLIE

Le cancer a pris la jambe de John quand il avait 10 ans. L'hiver suivant, le snowboarding lui a changer la vie. D'origine d'Ottawa, John est un paralympien en snowboard qui se prépare a représenter le Canada aux jeux de 2018. Voici son histoire.

Jouez