EN/FR
Store
Media
PTSAs
Contact Us
Yeti Summit

Media

Media inquiries - Athlete interviews - Information on our programs and events

 

 

Disciplines

THE SNOWBOARD DISCIPLINES

Alpine - Parallel Giant Slalom
The most notable change in 2002 was that the Giant Slalom discipline contested in 1998 had been changed to a dual event - the Parallel Giant Slalom. PGS features head-to-head competition. All competitors race the clock in the qualification round and the fastest 16 racers advance to the elimination round. These 16 competitors battle it out on two, side-by-side courses. After run one, the riders switch courses and in run two, the gate of the person that won the first race opens first, equivalent to the amount of time they led by. This ensures that the second run of each round really is a ‘first past the post’ race. The winner after the second race advances to repeat the process while the other heads to the stands to watch the outcome.

Alpine - Parallel Slalom
Similar to Parallel Giant Slalom but actual speeds are slightly less. The gates are more plentiful and closer together, causing the riders to have to be quicker from edge to edge.

Snowboardcross
This Olympic discipline sees competitors race through a course that features banked turns, terrain changes and jumps. It truly tests a rider’s all-around skills – and nerve. Each rider races the course solo at first, and the fastest times determine the start order for the knock-out rounds. The elimination rounds then see FOUR riders in the start gate at the same time and racing together on the same course, with the fastest two advancing on to each next round. A four-rider final determines the medal positions.

Para-Snowboardcross
Athletes compete in a time trial version of the Snowboardcross (SBX) Event. This format consists of each rider performing two or three timed runs, with only one rider on the course at a time. The course set up is similar to able-bodied snowboardcross events, with modifications to terrain features. The format combines both race and freestyle elements, while challenging the athletes regardless of their disability. The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) is the governing body for Para-Snowboard.  The IPC is responsible for creating the rules and regulations for a safe and fair playing field for the athletes. 

Freestyle - Halfpipe
The Halfpipe competition is a judged event. Judges each give the rider’s completed run an overall impression score. The runs are evaluated using several criteria including the sequence of tricks the rider performs, the amount of risk in the run and how the rider uses the pipe. The scores are compared, with a Head Judge overseeing the process. After qualifying for the finals, the slate is wiped clean and qualified competitors take two more runs. The higher of the two final run scores are used to rank the riders and determine a winner.

The size of the Halfpipe and the expertise of the riders in it have grown proportionately. Within eight years, wall heights have practically doubled, increasing to 22 feet. The pitch (steepness) has mellowed to 16.5 degrees from 18 and the transitions between the vertical part of the walls and the flat in the middle have become smoother and bigger. The changes have provided a safer venue for the riders, while at the same time, supporting the development of the sport.

Freestyle - Big Air
As with Halfpipe, Big Air is a judged event. Individual riders approach a single jump (also called a ‘Kicker’), perform tricks in the air, and land on a slope of around 30 degrees. Judges award points based on overall impression which will include style, degree of risk and of course a clean landing! For photo opportunities and a big crowd atmosphere, the Big Air event is without peer. The ‘Wow factor’ is huge, but it is far more difficult for the spectators to be able to tell who will win than it is with the race-based disciplines.

Freestyle - Slopestyle
This newest discipline to the world cup circuit has gained huge popularity in the past few years. Riders compete individually on a course containing a variety of large jumps, terrain features and rails. They are expected to flow smoothly from start to finish without stopping and the judges look for similar criteria as they do in the halfpipe.

EN/FR
Boutique
Médias
APTS
Contactez-nous
Yeti Summit

MÉDIAS

Demande de renseignements - entrevues - infos sur nos programmes et événements

Disciplines du sport

LES DISCIPLINES DU SNOWBOARD

Snowboard alpin - Slalom géant parallèle
Aux Jeux de 2002, l’épreuve du slalom géant présentée aux Jeux de 1998 fut modifiée pour devenir le slalom géant parallèle opposant deux concurrents. Tous les concurrents font une course contre la montre dans la ronde de qualification et les 16 plus rapides avancent à la ronde éliminatoire. Ces 16 concurrents s’affrontent sur deux parcours parallèles. Après la première descente, les concurrents changent de parcours et dans la deuxième descente, la porte du surfeur qui a remporté la première course s’ouvre en premier selon le nombre de secondes par lesquelles il a devancé son adversaire. Cela garantit que la deuxième course de chaque ronde est vraiment une course qui se décide autour du poteau d’arrivée.

Snowboard alpin - Slalom parallèle
Semblable au slalom géant parallèle, mais moins rapide. Les portes sont plus nombreuses et rapprochées, ce qui oblige les planchistes à effectuer des changements de carre plus rapides.

Snowboardcross
C’est la plus récente discipline olympique. Les concurrents dévalent un parcours au terrain changeant comportant des virages inclinés et des sauts. Cette discipline met à rude épreuve toutes les habiletés du surfeur et surtout son audace. Chaque concurrent fait la course seul et les temps les plus rapides déterminent l’ordre de départ pour la ronde éliminatoire. Dans la ronde éliminatoire, QUATRE concurrents prennent simultanément le départ et se font la course sur le même parcours. Les deux planchistes les plus rapides avancent à la ronde suivante. Quatre planchistes parviennent à la finale qui détermine les rangs pour les médailles.

Para-Snowboardcross
Les athlètes de para-snowboard participent à une version contre la contre du snowboard-cross (SBX). Ce format consiste en ce que chaque planchiste effectue deux ou trois descentes chronométrées avec un seul planchiste dans le parcours à la fois. Le parcours est établi de la même manière que pour les épreuves de snowboard-cross pour les sans handicap, avec des modifications aux caractéristiques du terrain. Le format combine les deux éléments de course et de style libre, tout en défiant les athlètes peu importe leur handicap. Le Comité international paralympique est l’organisme de régie pour le para-snowboard, Le CIP est responsable de créer les règlements pour un parcours sécuritaire et juste pour les athlètes.

Style libre - Demi-lune
Dans cette discipline, les épreuves sont jugées. À la fin de la descente, les juges attribuent chacun des points pour l’impression d’ensemble. Les descentes sont évaluées selon plusieurs critères tels la séquence des figures effectuées par le planchiste, le niveau de risque de la descente et l’usage que fait le planchiste de la demi-lune. Les points sont ensuite comparés sous la supervision du juge en chef. Les planchistes qui se sont qualifiés pour la finale repartent à zéro et font deux autres descentes.

Le pointage le plus élevé de ces deux descentes détermine le classement des planchistes et le gagnant. Avec le temps, la taille de la demi-lune s’est accrue proportionnellement à l’habileté des planchistes. Au cours des huit dernières années, la hauteur des murs a presque doublé pour atteindre 22 pieds. La pente (l’escarpement) s’est adoucie, passant de 18 à 16,.5 degrés et les transitions entre la partie verticale des murs et le plat au centre sont plus grandes et moins accentuées. Ces changements ont rendu les installations plus sécuritaires pour les planchistes, ce qui a contribué à l’essor du sport.

Style libre - Big Air
Tremplin destiné aux figures libres. Tout comme l’épreuve de demi-lune, le Big Air est une épreuve jugée. Les concurrents s’élancent individuellement d’un tremplin aussi appelé kicker, exécutent des figures dans les airs et atterrissent sur une pente dont l’inclinaison est d’environ 30 degrés. Les juges accordent des points pour l’impression d’ensemble en tenant compte du style, du niveau de risque et bien sûr de l’atterrissage! Le Big Air n’a pas d’égal pour attirer les foules et réjouir les photographes amateurs. Les exclamations fusent immanquablement de toutes parts et l’issue de cette épreuve est beaucoup plus difficile à deviner que celle des épreuves de course.

Style libre - Slopestyle
Cette discipline fait son entrée sur le circuit de la Coupe du monde cette saison. Elle a fait de nombreux adeptes au cours des dernières années. L’épreuve se déroule sur un parcours au terrain changeant et sur lequel se trouvent de grosses bosses et des rampes. Les planchistes doivent négocier successivement tous les obstacles sans s’arrêter. Les critères sur lesquels les juges fondent leur évaluation sont les mêmes que pour l’épreuve de demi-lune.