EN/FR
Store
Media
PTSAs
Contact Us
Yeti Summit

BANKED SLALOM TOUR

A celebration of snowboarding’s roots.

Banked Slalom Tour

About Banked Slalom

Banked Slalom is a celebration of snowboarding’s roots. It is also a pure expression of the culture’s playful spirit of competition.

Stretching back to the 1980s, early banked slalom events tested the limits of both riders and their nascent equipment, as racers snaked their way down the hill, around the gates, and across the finish line - to the applause of dozens of spectators - in the hopes of being named the champion. If they were lucky, the winner’s achievement could even be recognized with the presentation of a trophy made from duct tape.   

Memorable performances by some of our sport’s legendary figures including champions like Tom Sims, Shaun Palmer, Craig Kelly, Ross Rebagliati, Terje Hakonsen and Maelle Ricker all helped to ensure that banked slalom events have become some of the most anticipated dates on any snowboard calendar.

“The great thing about the banked slalom is that it is a little bit unique compared to any other snowboard contest,” said Ricker. “It really unites all sides of snowboarding. It’s tons of fun and a great way to see all your friends."

 

2017 Banked Slalom Tour

Canada Snowboard and the WSF Banked Slalom Tour are proud to support the banked slalom events listed below.

Banked slalom events are open to all riders, of any age, skill level or ability, including Para snowboard athletes. Banked slalom is considered an important element of Stage 8 of our Long Term Athlete Development model. This stage focuses on riders being active for life and embracing leadership roles as knowledgeable members of our community.


20th Annual Neil Edgeworth Memorial Banked Slalom

Big White Ski Resort, Kelowna, BC
March 24-26, 2017
Learn more
Register online
Find hotel deals



Beaver Valley Banked Slalom

Beaver Valley Ski Club, Markdale, ON
March 25, 2017
To learn more and to register, click here.



Pete Navin year end banked slalom & style

Sunshine Village, Banff, AB
March 25, 2017
Register online


Note: participants must agree to organizers’ registration requirements

But wait, there's even more banked slalom this season!
Canada Snowboard, Big White Ski Resort, and BC Snowboard are proud to present the 2017 World Para Snowboard Championships, which will feature a banked slalom contest, in addition to the boardercross competition. To learn more, click here.

Banked slalom will also be featured at the CADS Festival at Sun Peaks from March 26-31, 2017. To learn more, click here.

WSF Banked Slalom Tour 2017
To see the full  tour schedule, click here.

 

Featured Video

Banked slalom - a gathering of the snowboard community

13th Annual Neil Edgeworth Memorial Banked Slalom at Big White Ski Resort

Play video

EN/FR
Boutique
Médias
APTS
Contactez-nous
Yeti Summit

TOURNÉE BANKED SLALOM

Une célébration des fondements et l’histoire du Snowboard

Tournée Banked Slalom

Une célébration des fondements et l’histoire du Snowboard, banked slalom est une expression de l’esprit de la compétition badin.

Avec ses débuts aux années 1980’s, les concours de banked slalom ont poussés les pioniers du snowboard et leur équipement. Avec des pistes charactérisé par le virage similaire au surf, les participants ont tentés de se lancer autour des portes au plus vite possible - soutenu par les applaudissements des douzaines de spectateurs - dans l’espoir d’être nommé champion(nne).

Les performances inoubliables par les plus grands vedettes de snowboard, comme Tom Sims, Shaun Palmer, Craig Kelly, Ross Rebagliati, Terje Hakonsen et Maelle Ricker ont créé un héritage passionnant pour le banked slalom, et les compétitions continue d’être parmi les événements les plus hâtement anticipés à chaque saison.

“La meilleure chose à propos du banked slalom est que c’est un peu différent que les autres types de concours de snowboard,” explique Maelle Ricker. “C’est une force qui unit tout la communauté. C’est beaucoup de plaisir, et là on rencontre toujuours nos amis.”


Tournée Banked Slalom 2017

Canada Snowboard et le World Snowboard Federation (WSF) sont fiers de présenter la Tournée Banked Slalom du WSF 2017, avec trois événements au Canada.

Les concours de banked slalom ci-desssous sont ouverts à tous snowboardeurs, peu importe leur âges ou abiletés. Les athlètes Para sont aussi invités. Ces concours forment une grande partie du Stade 8 de notre plan de développement des athlètes à longue terme. Ce stade est axé sur transition des athlètes des activités compétitifs aux activités récréatives.



20e Banked Slalom Mémoriale Neil Edgeworth

Big White Ski Resort, Kelowna, BC
24-26 mars 2017
Renseignements
Inscription
Hébergement


Beaver Valley Banked Slalom

Beaver Valley Ski Club, Markdale, ON
25 mars 2017
Renseignements et inscription


Pete Navin Banked Slalom & Style

Sunshine Village, Banff, AB
25 mars 2017
Inscription

Notez: les participants doivent suivre les exigences d'inscription des organisateurs
 

En Outre
Canada Snowboard et le Comité paralympique Canadien sont fier de présenter le Championnats du Monde de Para Snowboard Big White 2017, qui comprend un concours de banked slalom, ainsi que la compétition de boardercross.

Banked slalom sera aussi inclus au Festivale CADS à Sun Peaks, le 26-31 mars 2017.

Tournée Banked Slalom WSF 2017
Pour des renseignements, cliquez ici.

 

EN VEDETTE

Banked Slalom - ce qui unit la communauté du snowboard

13e Banked Slalom Mémoriale Neil Edgeworth à Big White Ski Resort

Jouez