EN/FR
Store
Media
PTSAs
Contact Us
Yeti Summit

Curtis
MINARD

Stats

Full Name: Curtis "Curt" Minard
Discipline: Para-snowboard
Age: 38
Hometown: Weyburn, SK
Residence: Vernon, BC
Stance on board: Goofy

Rider Bio

Curt Minard burst on to the Para snowboard scene in Febuary 2016, taking home the gold medal in his first ever snowboardcross and banked slalom races, in a pair of NorAMs at Big White Ski Resort, BC. From there, Minard went on to win the Canadian National Championship in 2016, doing so with a broken shoulder to boot. A year later, he defended his national title as a member of the Para NextGen program.

Minard lost a portion of his left hand and wrist in an electrical contact accident in 2008. He was electrocuted with over 14400 volts of electricity with approximately 5 Amps of current, which is about 500% more than most humans can withstand before their bodies shut down. He also had many complications in the hospital, including a bursting artery in his left arm and a pulmonary embolism, both of which almost took his life. 

In his first full season, 2016-17, Minard finished sixth overall on the World Cup circuit. He competes in the Upper Limb (UL) category.

Minard served noticed he can contend for a medal at the 2018 Paralympic Winter Games when he won the bronze medal in the Snowboardcross on the PyeongChang course at the World Cup final in March 2017, to conclude the 2016-17 season. Minard also posted two top-eight finishes in January 2017 at the Big White 2017 World Para Snowboard Championships.

Highlights

- 1st Para SBX Sports Experts Speed Nation Nationals Mont Tremblant 2016-2017
- 3rd Para SBX PyeongChang 2018 Official Test Event World Cup  2016-2017
- 7th Para SBX Big White 2017 World Para Snowboard Championships 
- 8th Banked Slalom Big White 2017 World Para Snowboard Championships
- 1st Para SBX Sports Experts Speed Nation Nationals Chantecler 2015-2016

EN/FR
Boutique
Médias
APTS
Contactez-nous
Yeti Summit

Curtis
MINARD

Statistiques

Nom Complet: Curtis "Curt" Minard
Discipline: Para-snowboard
Âge: 38
Ville Natale: Weyburn, SK
Résidence: Vernon, BC
Direction: Goofy

Bio Rider

Curt Minard a explosé sur la scène du Para-snowboard en février 2016 en remportant la médaille d’or dans ses toutes premières courses de snowboardcross et de banked slalom dans deux courses Nor-AM au Big White Ski Resort, en C.-B. Après cela, Minard a gagné les championnats nationaux canadiens en 2016, en le faisant avec une épaule brisée. Un an plus tard, Minard a défendu son titre comme membre du programme « Para NextGen ».

Minard a perdu une portion de sa main et de son poignet gauche dans un accident de contact électrique en 2008. Il a été électrocuté avec plus de 14 400 volts d’électricité avec environ cinq Amps de courant, ce qui est environ 500% de plus que ce que la majorité des humains peuvent soutenir avant que leur corps s’arrête. Il a aussi eu plusieurs complications à l’hôpital, dont une artère qui a explosé dans son bras gauche et une embolie pulmonaire, les deux lui coûtant presque la vie. 

Dans sa première saison complète, 2016-17, Minard a terminé sixième en tout dans le circuit de la Coupe du monde. Il participe dans la catégorie « Upper limb (UL). »

Minard a prouvé qu’il peut viser une médaille aux Jeux paralympiques d’hiver 2018 quand il a gagné la médaille de bronze en Snowboardcross sur le parcours de PyeongChang dans la finale de la Coupe du monde en mars 2017 pour conclure la saison 2016-17. Minard a aussi affiché deux résultats parmi les huit premiers en janvier 2017 aux Championnats du Monde de Para Snowboard Big White 2017.

RÉSULTATS

- 1er Para SBX Nationaux Sports Experts Speed Nation Mont Tremblant 2016-2017  
- 3e Para SBX Événement Test PyeongChang 2018 2016-2017 
- 7e Para SBX Championnats du Monde de Para Snowboard Big White 2017
- 8e Banked Slalom Championnats du Monde de Para Snowboard Big White 2017
- 1er Para SBX Nationaux Sports Experts Speed Nation Chantecler 2015-2016