EN/FR
Store
Media
PTSAs
Contact Us

Para-Snowboard Program

Developing athletes with a disability to experience competitive snowboarding from grassroots to the national level.

Coaches & Supporters

THE ADAPTIVE FUNDAMENTALS WORKSHOP

The one-day Adaptive Fundamentals course is the first step for a person who wishes to work with athletes with a disability (AWAD). The course is recommended for anyone wishing to work with Stage 2 Athletes [linked to Para LTAD]. While this course is a stand-alone course, it is recommended for people taking the course to have already completed the Canada Snowboard Coaching Program Comp Intro Course [linked] or the Canadian Association of Snowboard Instructors Level One Course [linked].


WHO SHOULD ENROLL IN THIS WORKSHOP?

This workshop is designed for the individual, parent, guardian, friend, volunteer, or interested party to help facilitate the development of adaptive snowboarders. In this course, participants are learning to become the coach, mentor, leader, instructor, and teacher for athletes with disabilities. The focus is on learning to work with athletes who are brand new to the sport or are still learning basic skills.


REQUIREMENTS

This workshop was created as an introduction to adaptive snowboard teaching techniques but does not replace the skills gained within the CASI system. CASI level 1 is highly recommended in combination with this workshop as the building blocks to working with disabled snowboarders. This community stream coaching pathway does not require any portfolio pieces however ‘Making Ethical Decisions” is highly recommended.

 

 

Coaching Status upon workshop completion

Important: Coaches who have only completed Adaptive Fundamentals Workshop will obtain an “In Training” status, however they are not yet qualified as a “Trained Coach”. Rather, Adaptive Fundamentals should be seen as a specialized and complementary addition to their existing Comp Intro or CASI Level One credentials.

 

Contact

For more information about the Canada Snowboard Coaching Program, contact
Kim Krahulec - cnen@pnanqnfabjobneq.pn

EN/FR
Boutique
Médias
APTS
Contactez-nous

Programme de Para-Snowboard

Amateur ou professionnel, Notre programme de Para-snowboard encourage le développement athlétique de toute personne ayant un handicap.

Coachs et Supporteurs

Atelier Fondements Adaptés

Le cours d'une journée, Fondements Adaptés est la première étape pour quelqu’un souhaitant travailler avec des personnes ayant un handicap physique. Le cours est recommandé pour toute personne désireuse de travailler avec des athlètes de Stade 2 (détails ici). Bien que ce cours soit un cours à part entière, il est recommandé d’avoir suivi l’introduction à la compétition  (détails ici) ou de niveau CASI niveau 1. Les personnes complètent l'atelier ne seront pas certifiées comme entraîneurs et ne seront pas en mesure de travailler comme entraîneur à moins qu'ils ne prennent leur introduction à la compétition ou un CASI niveau 1.


Est-ce bon pour moi?

Cet atelier est conçu pour un parent, tuteur, ami, un bénévole ou quiconque intéressé à faciliter le développement de snowboarders adaptés. Dans ce cours, les participants apprennent à devenir le coach, mentor, chef, instructeur et professeur pour les athlètes ayant un handicap. L'accent est mis sur l'apprentissage du travail avec des athlètes qui sont nouveaux dans le sport ou encore l'apprentissage des compétences de base.


Exigences:

Cet atelier a été créé comme une introduction à l'adaptation des techniques d'enseignement de snowboard, mais ne remplace pas les compétences acquises au sein du système CASI. CASI niveau 1 est fortement recommandé en association avec cet atelier comme base pour travailler avec les planchistes handicapés. Cette voie d’encadrement communautaire ne nécessite pas de portfolio, toutefois «Prise de décisions éthiques» est fortement recommandée.

 

Voie Communautaire de développement d'entraîneur:

 

 

Pour plus d'informations sur les cours CSCP que nous offrons, communiquer avec Natasha Burgess Johnson: natasha@canadasnowboard.ca