EN/FR
Store
Media
PTSAs
Contact Us

Para-Snowboard Program

Developing athletes with a disability to experience competitive snowboarding from grassroots to the national level.

About Para-Snowboard

Event Format

Para-snowboard events include male and female athletes living with a physical disability such as spinal injury, cerebral palsy and amputation. There are two disciplines that are contested at the Para Snowboarding World Championship: Snowboardcross and Banked Slalom.


Para Snowboardcross

The event takes place on a custom-built course consisting of a variety of terrain features. Each athlete individually completes timed heats to determine the final order, with the medal round consisting of two racers per heat.

The ideal para snowboardbcross (SBX) slope allows for the construction of all or some of the following terrain features:

  •  Banks (crescent shaped)
  •  Doubled banks
  •  Rollers
  •  Offset rollers (single, double, triple, etc.)
  •  Minor jumps


Other terrain features can be built, but safety considerations and the riding level of the athletes must always be respected. If the competition includes athletes in the Visually Impaired Disability Class, for safety purposes an alternate route must be created by placing a second set of gates going around potentially dangerous features.


Para Banked Slalom

Contestants race in a time-trial format, often with multiple runs on the same day, with only their best time counting towards their final result. Banked Slalom attempts to replicate the spirit of surfing on a snowboard, with the course often set up in a gully, featuring racing gates on alternate banked turns.


Integration

The Canada Snowboard philosophy is to be fully integrated with the delivery of programs and activities for able-bodied participants of the sport.

Para-snowboard has been integrated into Park to Podium: The Long Term Athlete Development Plan for Snowboarding, the Canada Snowboard Coaching Program (CSCP), and Officials Program.


Park to Podium                                                                                                                                                                  

The Long Term Athlete Development Plan for Snowboarding identifies appropriate activities for snowboard athletes accordingly to carefully designed stages of development, such as “Learn to Ride” and “Train to Train”. Detailed information on Park to Podium is available here


Instruction/Coaching

The Canada Snowboard Coaching Program (CSCP) is Canada~Snowboard's resource for the training and certification of snowboard coaches. The CSCP is a part of the Coaching Association of Canada’s National Coaching Certification Program (NCCP). Detailed information on the CSCP is available here.

The CSCP’s integrated module for coaching athletes with a disability in snowboarding has been integrated into all Coaching Workshops.


Officials Training Program

The purpose of the Officials Training Program is to provide snowboard officials with a greater understanding of the role they will assume during a competition and to introduce them to the rules of snowboard competition, the International Rules of Competition (IRC) of the Fédération Internationale de Ski (FIS). For more information click here.

The Officials Training Program integrated module for officiating para-snowboard events has been integrated into all of the Official Workshops as of 2008. Any future official workshop will include the integrated module for officiating athletes with a disability.

 

Contact

For more information about the Para-Snowboard Program, contact
Kim Krahulec - para@canadasnowboard.ca 

Featured Video

Unstoppable

The Canadian Paralympic Snowboard Team traveled to Mt. Bachelor to compete in the 9th annual Dirksen Derby, and tell their powerful story of how they overcame their darkest days.

Play Video

EN/FR
Boutique
Médias
APTS
Contactez-nous

Programme de Para-Snowboard

Amateur ou professionnel, Notre programme de Para-snowboard encourage le développement athlétique de toute personne ayant un handicap.

À Propos le Para-Snowboard

Format des événements

Les événements de parasnowboard sont destinés à des athlètes, hommes et femmes, présentant des handicaps physiques comme des traumatismes médullaires et amputations. Les compétitions sont axés sur deux disciplines: Snowboardcross et Banked Slalom.


Para-Snowboardcross

L'événement a lieu sur un parcours incluant une variété d'obstacles, comme des virages inclinés, de différents types de sauts et de rouleaux, etc. Chaque athlète fait des descentes chronométrés. Les épreuves finales sont contestés avec deux concurrants à la fois sur le parcours.

Le parcours idéal de para-snowboardcross (SBX) adapté doit en principe permettre la construction et l’aménagement de l’ensemble ou de quelques-uns des éléments suivants :

  • les virages inclinés ou relevés (en forme de croissant);
  • les virages doubles;
  • les rouleaux ou vagues;
  • les rouleaux décalés (simple, double, triple, etc.);
  • les bosses ou sauts légers.

D’autres éléments pourraient également être aménagés, mais on doit toujours tenir compte de la sécurité et du niveau des athlètes. Lorsque des athlètes ayant une déficience visuelle prennent part à la compétition, un autre parcours doit être obligatoirement aménagé pour des raisons de sécurité, à l’aide de portes qui permettent de contourner les éléments les plus dangereux.

 

Banked Slalom

Avec des parcours charactérisé par le virage similaire au surf, les participants se lancent autour des portes au plus vite possible, avec multiples manches chronométrés pour chaque athlète pendant la journée. La meilleure temps parmi tous ses essais détermine le classement finale.


​Intégration

La philosophie de canada~snowboard veut que ce sport soit pleinement intégré aux programmes et activités offerts aux participants aptes physiquement à pratiquer ce sport. Le parasnowboard est présentement intégré au programme Parc au Podium : le plan de développement à long terme de l'athlète en Canada~Snowboard et au Programme des entraîneurs canadiens de snowboard.


​Parc au Podium

Le plan de développement à long terme de l'athlète en snowboard au Canada, on cible les activités appropriées pour les athlètes de snowboard afin de mettre soigneusement au point les étapes de développement telles que les ateliers « Apprendre à s’entraîner » et « S’entraîner à s’entraîner ». Des renseignements détaillés au sujet de Parc au Podium sont disponibles à l’adresse suivante : http://www.canadasnowboard.ca/fr/ms/ltad/


Intruction/Coaching

Le Programme des entraîneurs de canada snowboard (PECS) est la ressource de Canada~Snowboard en matière d’entraînement et de certification des entraîneurs de snowboard. Le PECS fait partie du Programme national de certification des entraîneurs (PNCE) de l’Association canadienne des entraîneurs. Afin d’obtenir des renseignements détaillés sur le PECS, rendez-vous à l’adresse www.canadasnowboard.ca/fr/coaching.

Le module intégré du PECS pour l’entraînement des athlètes de snowboard ayant un handicap a été intégré à tous les ateliers de base pour les entraîneurs dispensés au cours des saisons 2007-2008 et 2008-2009.


Programme de formation des officiels

Le programme de formation des officiels de Canada~Snowboard assure la formation et la certification des officiels du snowboard.

L’objectif du programme de formation est de faire en sorte que les officiels soient parfaitement conscients du rôle qu’ils assument lors d’une compétition et qu’ils soient initiés aux règlements régissant les compétitions de snowboard, soit les Règles internationales régissant les compétitions (IRC) de la Fédération Internationale de Ski (FIS). Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, visitez http://www.canadasnowboard.ca/fr/programs/officials/

Le module intégré pour les épreuves de para-snowboard du Programme de formation des officiels est incorporé au contenu de tous les ateliers de formation depuis 2008. Ainsi, tous les ateliers de formation à venir feront place au module intégré portant sur les athlètes ayant une incapacité physique.

En vedette

Unstoppable

Les athlètes de l’équipe canadienne de Para-Snowboard participent à la 9e édition du légendaire Dirksen Derby et expliquent comment ils ont surmonté leurs jours les plus sombres.

Jouez