EN/FR
Store
Media
PTSAs
Contact Us

About

Everything Canada Snowboard - who we are - what we stand for

National Team Program

The High Performance Program identifies the athletes best capable of representing the Canada Snowboard in elite international competition, and provides them with support to maximize their opportunities for success. Such support includes:

  • Coaching.
  • Training opportunities.
  • Competitive opportunities.
  • Health support, strength and conditioning, and mental training.
  • Access to Sport Canada’s Athlete Assistance Plan and other sources of financial assistance.

 

The Program is led by HPP Director Robert Joncas. Other HPP personnel, including coaches, support service practitioners, and technical staff report to the HPP Director.

The HPP provides programs and services in four disciplines: Alpine, Halfpipe, Slopestyle, Snowboardcross & Para-snowboard.

Athlete participation in the HPP is by invitation in accordance with the “High Performance Protocol Selection Protocol,” which is reviewed annually. Athlete participants in the HPP are members of the National Snowboard Team, or are members of such other programs or Teams as may be established from time to time.

Enquiries with respect to the High Performance Program should be directed to HPP Manager Tyler Ashbee: Glyre@pnanqnfabjobneq.pn

 

Mandate & Purpose

The High Performance Program is a program authorized by the Board of Directors of the CSF, and managed by the CSF’s professional staff. The purpose of the High Performance Program is to identify those athletes best capable of representing the CSF in elite international competition, and provide these athletes with the support to maximize their opportunities for success. Such support includes:

  • Coaching.
  • Training opportunities.
  • Competitive opportunities.
  • Services such as health support, strength and conditioning, and mental training.
  • Access to Sport Canada’s Athlete Assistance Plan and other sources of financial assistance.

 

Structure

The High Performance Program is managed by the High Performance Program Director, under direction of the Chief Executive Officer. Other HPP personnel, including coaches, support service practitioners, and technical staff report to the High Performance Program Director. The HPP provides programs and services in each of five disciplines: Alpine, Slopestyle, Halfpipe, Para, and Snowboardcross. Athlete participation in the HPP is by invitation. Athletes are selected for invitation in accordance with the “High Performance Protocol Selection Protocol”, which is reviewed annually. Athlete participants in the HPP are members of the National Snowboard Team, or are members of such other programs or Teams as may be established from time to time.

 

Objectives

The general objectives of the High Performance Program are:

  1. To provide elite international competitive opportunities to athletes who have demonstrated their ability, or their potential ability, to perform effectively at this level of competition, where:
    1. “elite international competitive opportunities” include Olympic Winter Games, World Championships, World Cups, and Junior World Championships; and
    2. “ability to perform effectively at this level of competition” is demonstrated through meeting performance standards established by the CSF from time to time, but will ordinarily reflect an ability to perform consistently at or above the mid-point of the World Cup field; and
    3. “potential ability to perform effectively at this level of competition” is demonstrated through meeting performance standards established by the CSF from time to time, but will ordinarily reflect an ability to perform consistently within the top eight at National Championships, Continental Cups, and other designated competitions.
  2. To provide persons selected for participation in the High Performance Program the opportunity to fulfil their potential as elite international athletes, where:
    1. “persons selected for participation in the High Performance Program” are those athletes who have met the criteria set out in the High Performance Program Selection Protocol and such other Selection Protocols as the CSF may establish for specific competitions; and
    2. “the opportunity to fulfill their potential as elite international athletes” is reflected through the provision by the CSF of the following, subject to the restraints of the Federation’s financial capacity and other sport development obligations:
    • Coaching.
    • Training opportunities.
    • Entry into elite international competitions.
    • Support services.
    • Direct and indirect financial support.
  3. To achieve medal results in all elite international competitions on a sustained basis in all Olympic disciplines, where:
    1. “medal results ... on a sustained basis” means at least one medal in each discipline in each competition entered; and
    2. “all Olympic disciplines” means the disciplines of Alpine, Halfpipe, Slopestyle, and Snowboardcross, as well as such other disciplines as may be established by the IOC.
  4. To achieve a sustained level of overall success in elite international competition in each Olympic discipline, where
    1. “a sustained level of overall success” means at least one third of results in the top eight of the field, and at least two thirds of results in the top half of the field.

EN/FR
Boutique
Médias
APTS
Contactez-nous
Donner

À propos

À propos de Canada Snowboard - notre raison d'être - nos valeurs

Équipe nationale

Le Programme de haute performance a la responsabilité d’identifier les athlètes étant les plus aptes de représenter la FSNC lors de compétitions élites de calibre international. Le programme a aussi pour mission de soutenir ces athlètes et de maximiser leurs chances de connaître du succès. Le soutien comprend :

  • l’entraînement;
  • des occasions d’entraînement;
  • des occasions de compétition;
  • des services divers tels les soins de santé, le conditionnement physique et la musculation et l’entraînement mental;
  • l’accès au Programme d’aide aux athlètes de Sport Canada et à d’autres programmes d’aide financière.


Le programme est chapeauté par le directeur du PHP Robert Joncas. Les autres membres du personnel du PHP, dont les entraîneurs, les employés de soutien, les praticiens et l’équipe technique se rapportent à l'entraîneur en chef.

Le PHP offre ses programmes et services dans les disciplines : Alpin, Demi-lune, Style Libre, Snowboardcross et Para-snowboard.

La participation des athlètes au PHP se fait sur invitation. Les athlètes sont en effet invités selon les règles du « Protocole de sélection du Programme de haute performance », qui est révisé chaque année. Enfin, les athlètes membres du PHP font partie de l’équipe nationale de snowboard, ou sont membres d’autres programmes ou équipes pouvant être reconnus de temps à autre.

Toutes les demandes reliées au Programme de haute performance devraient être acheminées au gestionnaire du PHP,  Tyler Ashbee : Glyre@pnanqnfabjobneq.pn

 

Mandat et Objectif

Le Programme de haute performance est autorisé par le conseil d’administration de la FCS et est dirigé par les professionnels de la FCS. Le Programme de haute performance a la responsabilité d’identifier les athlètes étant les plus aptes à représenter la FCS lors de compétitions élites de calibre international. Le Programme a aussi pour mission de soutenir ces athlètes et de maximiser leurs chances de connaître du succès. Le soutien comprend :

  • l’entraînement;
  • des occasions d’entraînement;
  • des occasions de compétition;
  • des services divers tels les soins de santé, le conditionnement physique et la musculation et l’entraînement mental;
  • l’accès au Programme d’aide aux athlètes de Sport Canada et à d’autres programmes d’aide financière.


Le Programme de haute performance est dirigé par le directeur du Programme de haute performance, sous la supervision du chef de la direction. Tous les autres membres du personnel du PHP, dont les entraîneurs, le personnel de soutien et technique se rapportent au directeur du Programme de haute performance. Le PHP offre ses services pour cinq disciplines : alpine, style libre, demi-lune para et snowboardcross. La participation des athlètes au PHP se fait sur invitation, et les athlètes sont sélectionnés en vertu du « protocole de sélection du Programme de haute performance », qui est révisé annuellement. Les athlètes participant au PHP sont membres de l’équipe nationale de surf des neiges ou membres d’autres programmes ou équipes pouvant être revus de temps à autre.

 

Objectifs

Les objectifs principaux du Programme de haute performance sont :

  1. De fournir des occasions de compétition élite internationale aux athlètes ayant démontré leur habileté, ou leur habileté potentielle, à exceller à ce niveau de compétition, pour lequel :
    1. les « occasions de compétition élite internationale » incluent les Jeux olympiques d’hiver, les championnats du monde, les Coupes du monde, les championnats junior du monde; et
    2. « l’habileté à exceller à ce niveau de compétition » est démontré par une réponse adéquate aux normes de performance établies par la FCS de temps à autre, mais qui se reconnaît habituellement par l’habileté à performer de façon constante dans la moyenne du circuit de la Coupe du monde; et
    3. « l’habileté potentielle à exceller à ce niveau de compétition » est démontré par une réponse adéquate aux normes de performance établies par la FCS de temps à autre, mais qui se reconnaît habituellement par l’habileté à performer de façon constante parmi les huit meilleurs au classement des championnats nationaux, des Coupes continentales et des autres compétitions désignées.
  2. D’offrir l’occasion aux personnes sélectionnées pour une participation au Programme de haute performance de développer leur potentiel en tant qu’athlète élite international, où :
    1. les personnes sélectionnées pour une participation au Programme de haute performance » sont les athlètes qui répondent aux critères établis dans le protocole de sélection du Programme de haute performance ou tout autre protocole de sélection que la FCS pourrait rédiger en vue d’autres compétitions en particulier; et
    2. l’occasion de développer leur potentiel en tant qu’athlète élite international » se reconnaît à la capacité de la FCS d’offrir les services suivants, sujets aux limites financières et aux autres obligations de la Fédération en terme de développement sportif :
    • l’entraînement;
    • les occasions d’entraînement;
    • l'Inscription aux compétitions élites internationales;
    • les services de soutien;
    • L'aide financière directe et indirecte.
  3. D’obtenir des médailles à toutes les compétitions élites internationales de façon soutenue et pour toutes les disciplines olympiques, où :
    1. « médailles… de façon soutenue » veut dire au moins une médaille pour chaque discipline et à l’occasion de chaque compétition pour laquelle il y a des inscriptions; et
    2. « toutes les disciplines olympiques » comprend les disciplines alpine, demi-lune, style libre et snowboardcross, de même que les autres disciplines pouvant être reconnues par le CIO.
  4. D’accéder à un niveau de succès général soutenu aux compétitions élites internationales dans chaque discipline olympique, où
    1. « un niveau de succès général soutenu » veut dire au moins un tiers des résultats inscrits parmi les huit meilleurs au classement du circuit et au moins deux tiers des résultats, dans la première moitié du classement du circuit.