Safe Sport
Covid-19 Updates

2018/2019 Canadian National Freestyle Snowboard Team Named

May 23, 2018


Canada Snowboard, in accordance with its 2018/2019 Freestlye selection protocol, is pleased to announce the 2018/2019 Canadian National Freestyle Snowboarding Team.  Consisting of Slopestlye, Big Air, and halfpipe, 9 women and 19 men will represent Canada across the National and NextGen teams. The Speed discipline national teams and Athlete Assistance Program (AAP) carding nominations will be announced in the coming weeks.
Canadian Freestyle riders continued to shine on the world stage in 2017/2018, picking up a total of 7 Gold, 4 Silver and 1 Bronze across all FIS Snowboard World Cups and World Snowboard Tour Elite level events.
The team also enjoyed their  time in South Korea, with Canada’s Mark McMorris (Regina, SK) and Max Parrot (Bromont, QC) winning Canada’s first medals of the PyeongChang 2018 Winter Olympics with a bronze and silver medal respectively in Men’s Slopestyle. Laurie Blouin (Stoneham, QC) followed things up by winning silver in the Women’s Slopestyle final before Sébastien Toutant (L’Assomption, QC) took home the very first Olympic Gold Medal in Men’s Big Air.
The Halfpipe team will feature 2 time Olympian Derek Livingston (Aurora, ON) who took home a career best 7th at the Burton US Open in 2017/2018, Calynn Irwin (Toronto, ON) and Elizabeth Hosking (Longueuil, QC), the latter of whom was the youngest member of team Canada at the 2018 Olympic Winter Games. Shawn Fair (Calgary, AB) and Jack Collins (Calgary, AB) will both be making their senior national team debuts.
Halfpipe National Team

Elizabeth Hosking (Longueuil, QC)
Calynn Irwin (Toronto, ON)
Derek Livingston  (Aurora, ON)
Shawn Fair (Calgary, AB)
Jack Collins (Calgary, AB)
Halfpipe NextGen Team
Braedan Adams (Calgary, AB)
Owen Wopnford (Calgary, AB)
Slopestyle National Team

Spencer O’Brien (Courtenay, BC)
Laurie Blouin (Stoneham, QC)
Brooke Voigt (Fort McMurray, AB)
Mark McMorris (Regina, SK)
Max Parrot (Bromont, QC)
Sébastien Toutant (L’Assomption, QC)
Tyler Nicholson (North Bay, ON)
Darcy Sharpe (Comox, BC)
Michael Ciccarelli (Ancaster, ON)
Slopestyle NextGen Team
Jasmine Baird (Georgetown, ON)
Baily McDonald (Minesing, ON)
Océane Fillion (Saguenay, QC)
Sommer Gendron (Toronto, ON)
Carter Jarvis (Calgary, AB)
Francis Jobin (Lac Beauport, QC)
William Buffey (Toronto, ON)
John ‘Jack’ MacDougall ( Grande Prairie, AB)
Nicolas Laframboise (Sainte-Agathe-Des-Monts, QC)
Liam Brearley (Gravenhurst, ON)
Jadyn Chomlack (Pemberton, BC)
Mateo Massitti (Canmore, AB)

Photo: Tyler Ashbee

Home, Slopestyle, Halfpipe, Big Air