Safe Sport

Board of Directors Election Results

October 19, 2015

Board of directors election results

October 19th 2015

Canada Snowboard conducted its Annual General Meeting yesterday, October 18th in-person in Vancouver, BC. During the AGM, four Board Member positions were up for election and the members had chance to vote on a list of great candidates.  On behalf of the staff and Board Members I would like to congratulate and welcome the following winning candidates of this election.  These newly elected members will serve for a two-year term.

Elected candidates: (2 Year Term)

      -     Jasey-Jay Anderson (Québec)
      -     Matt Houghton (Ontario)
      -     Bill Haines (Ontario)
      -     Erin Wilkins (British Columbia)

In addition to this newly elected group, the following members, elected from the 2014 AGM will return to the board of directors for their second year of their two year-term.

Returning Members (1 Year Remaining on Term)
      -     Guy Poupart (Québec)
      -     Tyler King (Ontario)
      -     Michael Lees (Alberta)
      -     Danny Bountain (British Columbia)

This group of eight board members will bring their well-recognized skillsets and experiences to help Canada Snowboard progress towards acheiving its strategic goals.  Over the last weekend, Canada Snowboard and the Provincial/Territorial associations went through a session to work together to set specific goals and plans of action.  The outcome included areas of focus to improve alignment to work collaboratively to ensure a strong system at all levels of competitive snowboarding in Canada.  Over the next few days, the board members will meet and set the organization’s officers.

On behalf of the board, the staff, and the members, I would like to personally thank and give recognition to the outstanding contribution made by outgoing board members Alexa Loo, Jesse Fox and Cara Thibault for the tremendous work and support they brought to the organization over the last years. We hope to continue to have all three remain close to the Canada Snowboard family and continue to work together in the near future.

I would like to add my thanks to all of our members for their involvement, participation and commitment to a strong relationship over the past weekend.


Guy Poupart, Chairman of the Board